Sign In

Chaitra Navratri 2022: Dates, Timing, Rituals, and Significance

Chaitra Navratri 2022: Dates, Timing, Rituals, and Significance

Reading Time: 3 minutes
Article Rating

The Hindu holiday of Chaitra Navratri lasts nine days. It starts on the first of the Hindu lunar calendar days. The festival honors nine avatars of Goddess Shakti, also known as Goddess Durga.

This auspicious Hindu festival is observed every year in the months of April and March. It is dedicated to nine avatars of Goddess Durga and is celebrated in the Hindu month of Chaitra.

Chaitra Navratri 2022 Dates

Navratri Day 1 – April 2, 2022 (Saturday) – Ghatsthapana, Pratipada, Shailputri Puja

Day 2 – April 3, 2022 (Sunday) – Dwitiya, Brahmacharini Puja

Day 3 – April 4, 2022 (Monday) – Tritiya, Chandraghanta Puja

Day 4 – April 5, 2022 (Tuesday) – Chaturthi, Kushmanda Puja

Day 5 – April 6, 2022 (Wednesday) – Panchami, Skandamata Puja

Day 6 – April 7, 2022 (Thursday) – Shashthi, Katyayani Puja

Day 7 – April 8, 2022 (Friday) – Maha Saptami, Kalaratri Puja

Day 8 – April 9, 2022 (Saturday) – Durga Ashtami, Sandhi Puja

Day 9 (Chaitra Navratri ends) – April 10, 2022 (Sunday) – Navami, Ram Navratri

Significancev of Chaitra Navratri

In some parts of northern India, Chaitra Navratri is also known as Rama Navratri. Lord Rama’s birthday, Rama Navami, falls on the ninth day of the Navratri celebration. The celebrations of the month of Chaitra, which is also known as the New Year, are depicted on the Hindu lunar calendar. Gudi Padwa is the first day of Chaitra Navratri in Maharashtra, and Ugadi is the first day of the festival in Andhra Pradesh.

Navratri is a mash-up of diverse cultures with a similar theme: the triumph of virtue over evil. Demon Mahishasura, who had beaten all the gods and devas, was finally killed by Goddess Durga on Chaitra Navratri. Following the defeat of the Gods, they approached Brahma (Hindu creator god), Vishnu (preserver god), and Mahesh (the destroyer), whose combined energies gave birth to Goddess Durga, the highest deity.

Rituals of Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratri is a Hindu festival that takes place in the months of March and April. People choose to perform Kalash Sthapana puja at their homes and places of business. A Kalash is kept at the place of worship, and the rites of Kalash puja are performed by a priest. On the first day of Navratri, there is a fantastic technique to install a Kalash.

  • The first thing you should do when you wake up in the morning is take a shower.
  • After you’ve cleaned the idols, the next step is to clean the area where the Kalash will be housed.
  • The next step is to spread a red-colored cloth on a wooden bench and chant Lord Ganesha’s mantras while placing raw rice on the red cloth.
  • You must construct an altar out of earth and sow Barley seeds in it.
  • Place the Kalash on the dirt and fill it with water.
  • Make a swastika sign on the Kalash with the vermillion paste and tie a holy thread around the Kalash’s neck.
  • The 9th day of Chaitra Navratri is Ram Navami (Spring Hindu festival), commemorating Lord Rama’s birth.
  • The 10th day of the Sharad Navratri is known as Vijayadashami or Dusshera, the day Lord Rama killed the evil king Ravana.
  • Keep some mango leaves in the Kalash, along with betelnut and currency.
  • Take a coconut and wrap it in a holy thread and a red Chunari.
  • Pray to the almighty God by placing this coconut on top of Kalash. Flowers should be offered to the gods, as well as worship from the religious mind and soul.

You may also like to read – Ganga Dussehra 2022

Frequently Asked Questions

1. When Navratri start in 2022 in April?

According to the Hindu calendar, Chaitra Navratri is observed during the Shukla Paksha of the Chaitra month. The first day of Chaitra Navratri will be April 2nd, 2022, and the ninth day will be April 10th, 2022, which will be Rama Navami.

2. How many Navratri are there in a year?

Every year, worshippers honour Goddess Durga with four Navratri fasts. The four Navratri fasts are called after the Hindu seasons and months in which they occur: Magha (Winter), Chaitra (Spring), Ashadha (Monsoon), and Sharadha (Summer) (Autumn).

3. Why is Navaratri celebrated?

Hindus commemorate the goddess Durga’s victory over the demon Mahishasura during Navratri. Because of his devotion to him, a more powerful God, Lord Brahma, had granted Mahishasura the gift of immortality, which meant he would never die.

4. Which car is Maa Durga going this year 2021?

Maa Durga’s ‘vahana,’ or vehicle, is the lion. Maa Durga’s might is also symbolized by the animal.

5. Can we wear black in Navratri?

When visiting temples, there are no rules prohibiting you from wearing black or any other coloured clothing. Because black is associated with failure, grief, and unpleasant things, some people avoid wearing it on most occasions including when visiting temples.