Sign In

Know the Ten Incarnations of Lord Vishnu in Hinduism

Know the Ten Incarnations of Lord Vishnu in Hinduism

Reading Time: 3 minutes
Article Rating

Lord Vishnu’s 10 incarnations, or ‘Dasa Avatara,’ are a remarkable chronicle of the growth of human existence and progress in human civilisation. Lord Brahma, Vishu, and Shiva are the three primary deities of Hinduism. Mother Nature has three faces: Brahma creates, Vishnu protects, and Shiva destroys.

Lord Vishnu comes to Earth to protect dharma and rid the world of evil. Lord Vishnu has already arrived nine times on Earth, with Kalki becoming the tenth.

The order in which Lord Vishnu appears on Earth is consistent with evolutionary science. In reality, Lord Vishnu’s 10 incarnations provide an astonishing chronicle of human civilization’s progress.

First Incarnation

Matsya Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s first incarnation, or avatar, had the appearance of a fish and was known as ‘Matsya Avatar.’ Science has finally proved that the earliest living forms developed underwater via many studies.

Second Incarnation

Kurma Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s second incarnation took the appearance of a tortoise known as ‘Kurma Avatar.’ The tortoise is an amphibious species that can live on land and in water, and it represents the movement of life from the ocean to the surface of the Earth.

Third Incarnation

Varaha Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s third incarnation is the ‘Varaha Avatar,‘ a boar. Boar is a completely terrestrial mammal, and in this incarnation, the life form has adapted to land after leaving the ocean.

Fourth Incarnation

Narasimha Avatar

Lord Vishnu’s fourth incarnation is the ‘Narasimha Avatar,‘ a half-human, half-animal hybrid. The transition from animal to human form begins with this incarnation.

Fifth Incarnation

Vamana avatar

Lord Vishnu’s fifth incarnation is the ‘Vamana avatar,’ a dwarf or pigmy-sized human person. The evolution of intellect and the shift from beastly to human form.

Sixth Incarnation


The woodland dweller knew as ‘Parasuram‘ is Lord Vishnu’s sixth avatar. He has created weapons, and the axe is his first. Any sharp stone may be turned into an axe, and it also represents the first human settlement in the forest.

Seventh Incarnation

Lord Ram

Lord Ram is Lord Vishnu’s seventh avatar. He became cultured and created more advanced weapons like the bow and arrow. He has cleared the trees and established little settlements or communities. He is always on the lookout for threats to his communities and people.

Eight Incarnation

Lord Balarama

Lord Balarama is Lord Vishnu’s eighth avatar. He is shown holding a plough, which represents the commencement of full-fledged farming. Human civilization has progressed to the point that it no longer relies on meat and the forest for nourishment. The start of the agricultural economy. (Some texts have Buddha instead of Balaram.)

Nineth Incarnation


Krishna is Lord Vishnu’s ninth avatar. He stands for the advancement of human civilisation. He is linked to cows, the beginning of animal domestication, and economic progress, which continues to this day.

Tenth Incarnation

vishnu avatar kalki

Lord Vishnu’s tenth incarnation, Kalki, is yet to appear. He is said to ride Devadatha, a speedy horse, and destroy the world. An obvious sign that humans will put an end to life on the planet. The innumerable natural disasters caused by humans, as well as the numerous nuclear weapons on hand, demonstrate this.