Sign In

Best Kundali (Horoscope) Matching for Marriage: How Many Gunas Should Match?

Best Kundali (Horoscope) Matching for Marriage: How Many Gunas Should Match?

Reading Time: 4 minutes
Article Rating

Some marriages are more successful than some other marriages. Haven’t you ever wondered, why? What makes some marriages better than some others?  Why do Hindu beliefs focus on best kundali matching practices to predict the future of a marriage? Well, if these questions intrigue you too, then you must know that astrology has all the answers.


The Mystery Behind Kundali Matching For a Marriage

According to Vedic astrology, there are a total of 36 Gunas in a birth chart. 

These gunas are what’s matched in the kundalis of the bride and the groom. And, the number of gunas that match determine how successful a marriage would be.

So, what does guna actually mean?

Guna means quality. Every birth chart has 36 of these, and these 36 are divided into 8 different categories that are known as Ashta Koota.

For the purpose of best kundali matching, astrologers explore the number of gunas that should match.

Those are the kinds of things that we, too, will be exploring in this guide. But, before that, we would like to give you an interesting insight.

Insight About Marriage Success

  1. It is important that at least 18 out of the 36 gunas should match.

  2. If 18 to 24 gunas match, the marriage is expected to be a very cordial one.

  3. If 25 to 32 gunas match, the destinies of the bride and groom are entwined. Such marriages turn out to be idealistic.

Note that, it’s very rare that more than 32 gunas will ever match. Such kundalis are very very rare.

That said, it’s quite a natural inclination to know what do gunas actually represent. For the purpose of better understanding, the gunas in a kundali are divided into 8 categories. Those are the ones that we will be helping you to explore. Have a look!

An Insight on the Concept Behind Ashta Koota

 Ashta koota (or 8 categories) in a birth chart include the Nadi Koota, Varna Koota, Vashya Koota, Tara Koota, Yoni Koota, Rashyadipati Koota, Gana Koota, and Rashi Koota.

Let’s find out about some interesting details related to all the 8 kootas and explore their significance in a marriage.

Nadi Koota

There are a total of 3 Nadis – vata nadi, pitta nadi, and kappa nadi. This koota represents the reproductive compatibility of the couple – health of the children.

The couple with the same Nadis have 0 score and the ones with different nadis get 8 points.

Tara Koota

Tara means star. So, Tara koota is basically the astro science of matching gunas based on star alignment in a kundali.

There are a total of 27 stars in a birth chart. When two kundalis are matched for the purpose of marriage, here’s how it works.

The birth star of the bride is counted from the birth star of the groom and vice versa. Whatever number comes out, it is divided by 9.

  • If the remainder for both bride and groom are even, they get 3 points.

  • If the remainder for both the birth charts is odd, the couple gets a 0.

  • If one of the remainder is even and the other is odd, the couple gets a score of 1.5.

    You may also like to readHow to find Date of Birth Matching for Marriage

Yoni Koota

Yoni koota in a birth chart is used to determine the sexual compatibility of the couple.

According to astrology, there are a total of 14 yonis (animal classifications) in a birth chart – Horse, Elephant, Sheep, Dog, Cat, Rat, Snake, Cow, Buffalo, monkey, lion, tiger, deer, and mongoose.

If the animal spirit in the birth chart of the bride and groom are the same, their compatibility score is the highest, 4. If the animal spirits are different but friends, the compatibility score is, 3. If the spirits are neutral, the score is 2. For unfriendly spirits the score is 1 and for enemy animals (like snake and mongoose or tiger and deer), the compatibility score is 0.

Vashya Koota

The vashya of humans is divided into 4 categories – vanchar, jalchar, chatushpad, and keet.

If the vashya of bride and groom is the same, they get 2 points. If it’s the opposite, the score is 0. However, they get half a point if one of the two is jalchar. For the other combinations, the score is 1.

 Varna koota

Varna means jati. It is used to determine which of the two (bride or groom) will dominate the relationship. There are 4 varnas in Hindu culture – Brahmin, Kshatriya, vaishya, and Shudra – Brahmin being the highest and shudra being the lowest.

Rashyadipati Koota

The score for this koota depends upon the planetary alignment in the birth chart of the bride and groom.

  • If the governing planets are friends, the couple gets 5 points.

  • If one of all the governing planets is friends, the couple gets 4 points.

  • For the neutral planets (neither friends nor enemies), the score is 1.

  • For enemy planets, the score is 0.


Gana Koota

This koota is essentially divided in 3 categories – manava, deva, and raksha.

So, if the gana for both the kundalis being matched for marriage is the same, the couple gets 8 points. If one is deva and the second is raksha, the couple gets 1 point. If one is manava and the other is raksha, the couple gets a 0.

Rashi Koota

There are a total of 12 rashis (zodiac signs) in the Hindu culture. When a kundali is being matched for marriage, the position of the moon in the bride’s birth chart is counted from the moon in the groom’s birth chart and vice versa.

  • The best kundali matching is when the moon’s position in the groom’s chart is in the 7th and 12th place from the bride’s chart.

  • If the moon in the bride’s birth chart is in the 12th place from the moon in the groom’s chart, the wedding is considered to be inauspicious.

Finally, the numbers that are obtained after marching each koota are calculated. The sum is the number of gunas that match. And like we have already mentioned, if the kundalis have less than 18 gunas matching, the bride and groom are considered to be incompatible.

So, to sum up, the best kundali matching can be done by an astrologer and one shouldn’t proceed with the wedding until the gunas are read and calculated thoroughly

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is the significance of kundli matching?

Kundli matching in the Hindu culture is done to determine whether the boy and girl will be compatible after marriage.

2. Is kundli matching by name accurate?

To a very large extent, yes. Astrologers check the names and the date of birth of the boy and girl to find out how many gunas are matching. Based on that, the results obtained are quite accurate.

3. How many gunas should match during kundli matching for marriage?

There are 36 gunas (qualities) that are divided in 8 parts. It is important that at least 18 gunas match for the marriage to be successful.

4. What is ashtakoota in kundli matching?

The 8 categories in which 36 gunas are divided are known as ashtakoota. The 8 kootas are named Nadi, Gana, Tara/Deena, Rashyadipati/Bhakoot, Yoni, Vashya, Varna, and Maitri.