Sign In

Which Phase of Sade Sati is Worse? A Detailed Look

Which Phase of Sade Sati is Worse? A Detailed Look

Reading Time: 3 minutes
Article Rating

Sade sati in a birth chart occurs when Shani (Planet Saturn) sits in the wrong house. The bad luck it brings lasts for 7.5 years, but its malicious effects can be reduced

Sade Sati has been the two-word-phrase that has been haunting humans ever since the beginning of time. It has a mention in all the 4 Vedas too. Usually linked with misfortunes of the worst nature, the concept and reasoning behind Sade Sati is actually entirely misunderstood.

Vedic astrology never says that Sade Sati will happen to every person. All it says is that Sade Sati is the result of the wrath of Lord Shani. But, Shani dev doesn’t just bring misfortune. He’s the one who also bestows the deserving with good luck, wealth, and success. So, before we can actually take you through the different phases of Sade Sati and explain which phase of Sade sati is worse, it’s necessary that you learn a little bit about the entire concept behind it.

So, What’s the Concept Behind Sade Sati?

 The planet Saturn, also known as Shani dev, is the Lord of Karma and justice. He is the one who keeps an eye on the karma of all your past lives and the current one. And since Shani isn’t just the Lord of fury but also justice, he’s the one who will bestow the deserving with fortune and good luck. It’s only those that are followed by the bad deeds of their past lives are punished by Shani dev in the form of Sade Sati.

So, Saturn isn’t the planet of just hardships and troubles, it’s actually also a planet of good luck.

Hoping that some of your misconceptions about Sade sati would have pacified by now, we are now steering the guide towards the most commonly asked questions, what is Sade sati and which phase of Sade sati is worse.

Let’s start with the first – What is Sade Sati?

Every birth chart has a moon of its own. When the planet Saturn interferes with the moon of a zodiac in the 12th House, 1st House, and 2nd house, it kickstarts the beginning of Sade sati (7.5 years of misfortune and bad luck).

But why 7.5 years specifically?

 Saturn takes 2.5 years to pass between each sign in the zodiac belt. So, it will start its journey of 2.5 years from your natal moon to the 12th house in your birth chart. Then it will take 2.5 years to get to the 1st house, and another 2.5 years to get to the 2nd house. Henceforth, 2.5+2.5+2.5 = 7.5 years – hence, Sade sati brings misfortune for 7.5 years.


You may also like to read – Health Problems due to Planetary Misalignment

How Many Phases does Sade Sati Have?

To be precise, the answer is 3 – the First Charan, the Second charan, and the Third charan.

Three phases of Sade Sati 

The First Charan/Phase of Sade Sati

When the planet Saturn starts its transit from the natal moon of your star sign (zodiac sign) to the 12th house, the first cycle of 2.5 years (also known as dhaiya) begins. This phase of Sade sati is associated with the following kinds of misfortunes.

  1. Your relationship with your father and other close relatives will begin to tarnish. Miscommunication will begin.

  2. The financial problems will start to erupt unexpectedly.

  3. You might also develop some kind of eye disorder(s) during the first phase of Sade sati.

The 2 houses that the first phase of Sade sati affect are the 6th house and the 9th house.

The Second Charan/Phase of Sade Sati

This is the phase where the Planet Saturn will be at its maximum fury. So, if you’ve been wondering which phase of Sade sati is worse, then, you have the answer now – the second phase of Sade sati is the worst phase. It starts with the transit of planet Saturn in the 12th House to the 1st house in the natal chart. The many problems that befall a person dealing with Sade sati in its second phase are as follows.

  1. Heavy financial losses and debts.

  2. Serious arguments with loved ones that’ll cut you off from other people completely. The communication will entirely stop.

  3. A spree of health problems will begin with such fluidity that you’ll end up drying most of your savings.

The 3 houses that the second phase of Sade sati has an effect on are, the 3rd house, the 7th house, and the 10th house.

Third Charan/Phase of Sade Sati

This is the last and the least severe phase of Sade sati. It is the phase where the planet Saturn transits from the 1st house in the natal chart to the 2nd house. The problems that’ll befall during this phase are as follows.

  1. Some sort of unhappiness and restlessness.

  2. Intermittent financial difficulties.

  3. Health problems redirected towards children.

Once the third phase ends, so does Sade sati. The cycle of bad karma ends with this final phase and then, lord Shani, starts the healing phase where he blesses you and restores some sort order and peace in life.


  1. Shani devi (the planet Saturn) is as much about fortune and blessings as he is about serving misfortune to those with bad karma.

  2. The second phase of Sade Sati is the worst phase.

  3. You cannot escape from Sade sati. The wrath of the planet Saturn can, though, be reduced in the form of many prayers that are offered to Shani dev to please him